Proteins for celiacs
In recent times we have witnessed the popularization of food without gluten. This is due mainly to, on the one hand, many people want to avoid consumption by the various damages that may result, while on the other, there are individuals who have allergies to this substance, a disease called celiac disease. This has expanded the universe of nutritional protein-based, of which we will discuss in this article supplements.
- 1 What is gluten and celiac disease?
- 2 Symptoms of gluten intolerance
- 3 The gluten protein supplements
- 4 Protein supplements for celiac
- 5 Paleo Diet, Gluten-Free Diet
- 6 An important recommendation when buying protein for coeliacs
What is gluten and celiac disease?
But, first of all, we want to define what is gluten and intolerance, ie, the celiac disease.
Gluten is, in short, a set of proteins that are present exclusively in flour all dry cereals like wheat, but also others such as rye, oats and barley. Wheat attributed to its unique cooking qualities, in addition to determining the ability to absorb water, stick and maintain the union of the foods that constitute.
The term “gluten” literally comes from the Latin word “glue”. This origin of the word is meaningless because the gluten is associated with the viscosity of the mass and its resilient characteristics, strong and malleable structure. A clear example is seen in bread, where the gluten allowed to “hold together” mass that is created when the flour is mixed with water
Lattice or celiac disease is a serious genetic autoimmune disorder in which eating gluten causes damage to the small intestine.
Those who suffer from this condition have a permanent intolerance to gluten. In this sense, every time you eat, your immune system attacks and destroys healthy cells in any part of your body in response to their presence.
These attacks cause damage to the intestinal villi that promote the absorption of nutrients. When these areas are damaged, nutrients can not be absorbed properly in the body. Currently the only treatment for celiac disease is a strict gluten – free diet.
Symptoms of gluten intolerance
Those who suffer from gluten intolerance and for any reason, usually by mistake or be wrong labeling of a product, ingest food containing gluten or traces, will cause a series of reactions in your body. Among the significant symptoms that result in most cases we can see:
In other more diverse, and can occur less frequently cases can be appreciated other symptoms:
- Headaches and nausea
- Numbness and muscle cramps
- Joint pain
If you do not know if your gluten intolerant and wheat consumption to experience very often any of the above symptoms, you should pay attention and evaluate the possibility that galleys of celiac disease.
The gluten protein supplements
I must say that, overwhelmingly, protein supplements are not made from cereals such as wheat, so, by themselves, do not contain gluten. However, other that they are manufactured in locations where food is processed with this substance. Therefore, it is possible that these nutritional supplements contain traces of gluten intolerance causing celiac disease.
In addition, many of these complexes do contain glutamine peptides, which have been shown to also negatively affect people with celiac disease.
A very simple but it requires some attention to whether a protein supplement has no traces of gluten is to look carefully label looking for some expression of style “Gluten Free” or “Gluten Free”
Protein supplements for celiac
Today in the market you can find a variety of protein supplements specially created for people who are intolerant to gluten. In fact, the nutritional value they have is exactly the same and even higher in some cases. The best examples are:
Isolated pea protein HSN Essentials
An ideal supplement for anyone regardless of the type of diet to follow, ie, from people who practice a vegan or vegetarian diet, until that allow any type of protein sources. The pea protein is a great alternative, and an excellent choice as gluten proteins; It is low in calories and is available in flavors: neutral, vanilla and chocolate. On the other hand, it does not contain Aspartame and Acesulfame-K. It is also free of GMOs (Genetically Modified Organisms.)
Isolated Soy Protein HSN Essentials
The Soy Protein has a number of benefits and properties as well as being another great choice as protein gluten. It offers an excellent amino acid profile, as well as a high percentage of protein per serving. Soy protein is also rich in nutrients, where the presence of phytochemicals such as flavonoids and isoflavonoids are, phenolic acids, fitoalexinas, phytosterols and saponins, with antioxidant properties and strengthen the immune system.
Rice Protein Isolated from HSN Essentials
As its name suggests, this protein supplement is not only ideal for coeliacs, but also for vegans and vegetarians as it does not use for processing any animal product. In fact, it is prepared, exclusively, from non-genetically modified rice and is completely free of egg, milk, wheat and soybeans. You have it available in the following flavors: neutral, vanilla and chocolate.
Vegan Protein Weider
Protein especially for vegans Vegan Protein is a delicious protein supplement for celiacs is rich in omega-3 fatty acids, vitamins, antioxidants, minerals and amino acids. All it prepared from peas and rice with quinoa.
Hemp Protein or Protein (will soon be available on our HSN Essentials range).
Perfect for those who want to try something different from traditional protein supplements made from brown rice. And, in general, the base composition is hemp. It is also perfect for vegans and lactose intolerant.
Maybe these are some of the most important and popular protein supplements for people intolerant to gluten but, undoubtedly, there are many varied and produced by prestigious brands. On the other hand we can not fail to mention our lines in which we are constantly incorporating products for people with this type of intolerance.
In addition, many global brands have also been launched to care for developing protein supplements to ensure they are free of gluten. In addition, in this way, they get to meet an ever wider audience, because there are many people who, despite not presenting intolerance to this set of own proteins rainfed cereals such as wheat, do not want to include it in your diet usual sports.
Paleo Diet, Gluten-Free Diet
Paleo Diet is a type of feed (based on dietary habits still our ancestors) in which leave any highly processed product, and also those that contain gluten. We could establish that this diet would be one of the best to implement where there is a commitment to get protein for coeliacs.
Clarify, however, that you can lead a gluten-free diet, but not the Paleo Diet …
A lot of people have different conditions, such as poor health markers, inflammation, high cholesterol … all symptoms are improved when changing your habits by promulgating principles Paleo Diet. These grains and cereals are eliminated, as is the case of wheat, so will automatically eliminate the possibility of eating gluten. Other substances are let consuming phytates and lectins whose characteristics lead to poor absorption of important nutrients.
An important recommendation when buying protein for coeliacs
In any case, we recommend that, as we mentioned briefly in previous lines before buying any protein supplement Prestes much attention to the label and make sure it does not contain gluten. Those who are exposed in this article have been tested by ourselves, so they are completely safe. However, if you are celiac, prevention is always better than cure, and this is the only way to get an absolute certainty that they are safe. This was all we had to tell you about the universe of protein supplements for people affected by celiac disease. Lucky for you, you have seen that, at present, the market offers a wide variety of products that allow you to provide your body the protein they need without having to hold fear some a negative response because of this substance. In addition, the vast majority of them are also ideal for lactose intolerant and vegans and vegetarians.